Dr. Frank Sprachen & Reisen

Ausland macht schlau!

Kai-Hsiang aus Taiwan

August 2022 - Juni 2023

17 Jahre alt
Top Hobbies: Volleyball, Snowboarden, Basketballspielen
Vegetarier: Nein
Allergie: Nein

My name is Kaden, and this is my self-introduction. I am a 17-year-old student in the 11th grade who grew up in a close-knit family of four people: my parents and a younger sister. Influenced by my parents, I am an adventurous person. My family and I like to go mountain climbing or surfing on weekends, and we have also been to many countries. I am an outgoing person, so one of the reasons why I want to go to Germany for exchange is that I want to make new friends. I also love German cars and the culture from what I've seen. In terms of my school life, I think I am a leader in our class because my classmates often come to me to ask for advice. I also feel that I have a good relationship with my classmates because I always help them with everything I can. My academic performance is decent, and my favorite subjects are Chinese language and history. But to be honest, I don’t really like to study a lot, so I am proud of my good time management skills to save me time to do what I like.

When it comes to the topic of hobbies and interests, the first thing that comes to my mind is not video games, but volleyball. I spent time every week playing volleyball with my friends and many teammates every week. By the way, my biggest wish is to grow taller so I can play some different positions than libero and setter. Another hobby that I have is reading and listening to music. I love to do it at the same time when I am on the metro or on buses. It makes me feel that time is moving faster. A very useful skill for making friends is that I can play a bit of guitar. I have been learning the guitar for three years, and I have also gone to parks and school fairs to perform, since music is a great way to make friends. Also, I love to eat delicious food. It doesn’t have to be fancy. For example, there are many delicacies in Taiwan. I like to try many new restaurants in Taiwan's small alleys, which is a really exciting experience for me because you never know what you'll find, and I have tried several types of German food, for instance, curry sausage and pig knuckles. Those are the foods that I want to try the most in Germany to see what the differences are. By the way, I really hate the taste of tomatoes; but I love ketchup, especially with French fries. And also, I am interested in learning some cooking techniques for German dishes.

I was planning to do the exchange year two years ago when I was in tenth grade, but the pandemic paused my schedule and I was forced to do it later. Actually, I think it is better for me to go at the age of seventeen because I have two more years to think about what is really good for me and what I should investigate when exchanging, instead of spending years blindly searching. My ideal career is in law, language, and history. There are a lot of good universities that can fit me, and I am willing to learn more during the period of exchange. Germany is a well-developed country. My parents have always thought of going to Germany, and this is a good chance for me to examine if this is a good place for our family. Another important point that drives the exchange is that I am really curious about what students my age are doing, and going to a whole new environment can broaden my vision. So maybe I can gain more unique experiences or ideas for my life. Most importantly, I hope to learn German in a fast and efficient way, and putting myself in a German environment can make me learn the language faster. That is my self-introduction. I hope to see you soon!