Dr. Frank Sprachen & Reisen

Ausland macht schlau!

Helena aus Ecuador

August 2022 - Juni 2023

17 Jahre alt
Top Hobbies: Lesen, Karate, Musik, Taekwando und Joggen
Vegetarier: Nein
Allergie: Nein

Hello

My name is Helena Sofia and I am 17 years old. I am from Quito, Ecuador.

The principal reason why I want to attend the program is because I always wanted to live in another country, I think that every country is special because they haver their own culture and their own traditions as well. I want to improve my German skills, in general I want to know more about Germany. As well I want to teach you about my country and how we live here and all the beautiful things you can find here like our gastronomy, culture, traditions, landscape, natura, people and other things.

Talking about myself, I can say that I am really responsible and adaptable. As well, I can say that I’m really open-minded and usually I’m in a good mood but sometimes I can be to reserved about my feelings. I can also say that I’m very independent, I love doing things by my own, but it doesn’t matter when is time to help others, that’s why sometimes I go and do some community work. I like to meet new people and talk to them.

My principal hobbies are reading and cooking, I’m not very good with desserts but I can cook normal meals and I can say that they are pretty good. I love travelling, I usually go with my parents and my brother in road trips to go and visit some new parts of my country. I also practice karate, I’m purple belt. I’ve been practicing it for like 2 years and I love it; it makes me feel free and relax. I also like practice every kind of sport, like soccer, swimming or volley.

So, let’s talk about my family. I live with my parents Javier and Natalia, they are adventurous people, because of them is why I love travelling and trying new things.

Especially my mom, usually we are that kind of person that love to try things that are “crazy” like canopy and paragliding. My father is calmer, but he also loves to visit new places and he likes to know the history of them. I have one brother called Gabriel, he is 12 years old, with him I usually try to play video games even if I am not pretty good on them. I’m really grateful with them, because they are giving me a extraordinary opportunity, to improve as a person and know more things that will help me with my future.

In my school I like to participate in the activities of it. In my last year I participated in a program where I took one semester in a college to try architecture and also, I this year in the student council as secretary. I usually organize the programs as a coordinator, I would like to thank you for volunteering to be my host parents and I hope we have a great time and a lot of fun and to learn things about us. It will be a honor for me to share this experience with you.


Best regards, Helena