!DOCTYPE html>

Dr. Frank Sprachen & Reisen

Ausland macht schlau!

Chiara C. aus Italien

August 2021 - Januar 2022

16 Jahre alt
Top Hobbies: Skifahren, Volleyball, Reiten
Vegetarier: Nein
Allergie: Nein

 

 

Liebe Gastfamilie,

I can't believe I'm finally writing this letter, until a few months ago it seemed like a pipe dream and now it's taking shape. These words will allow me to find fantastic people ready to host me for six months! I would like to apologize in advance for the mistakes I will make in this letter but I do not have excellent German... it is predictable since I want to have this experience to improve the language.

My name is Chiara which literally means clear or limpid; but it has much older origins. I know that it comes from a Latin adjective ''clarus'', that is "luminous". But it does not reflect me since I have nothing clear as my hair and my eyes are brown. Nevertheless I am fond of this name since it is like my paternal grandmother’s name, Clara.

Ich bin ein 16 Jahre altes Mädchen (ich bin im Moment 16, aber wenn ich ankomme, werde ich 17 Jahre alt sein).

Ich lebe in einem kleinen Dorf namens Rapino, es ist wirklich klein, es gibt nur 1200 Einwohner. Es liegt am Fuße des Berges und ist umgeben von Land und anderen kleinen Dörfern. Als Ort ist es sehr langweilig; es gibt nichts zu tun, aber es hat wunderschöne Landschaften und eine sehr alte Geschichte. Von meinem Region (die Abruzzen) aus kann man sowohl das Meer als auch die Berge sehen und es ist eines der schönsten Dinge, die die Gegend charakterisieren, in der ich lebe. Normalerweise ist hier niemand außer den Älteren, die an der Bar Karten spielen, aber zum Glück habe ich viele Freunde, mit denen ich rumhängen kann. Ich kenne meine Freunde seit ich 3 bin, ich liebe sie wirklich sehr.

I usually go out with my friends either on Fridays or Saturdays. My best friends are called Giulia, Alisia, Gaia and Edlira. They're great, I think I wouldn't be who I am today if it wasn't for them, and I'm so thankful because we grew up together and I couldn't have asked for more.

I have to travel a lot to go to school; every day I take the bus at 6 in the morning which takes an hour to get to Chieti (the city where my school is located). I attend linguistic high school, I love what I study and what this school offers me. I have chosen Spanish and German, of course we also study English. I really enjoy studying languages, literature and their history, although it is very difficult, but it is worth it. I have never had any problems in school and I enjoy studying interesting subjects like Philosophy and History. I am attending the third year of high school and I think it is very difficult in this situation as we have been in video lessons for a whole year and not seeing my friends or not having social relationships is very difficult especially at this age.

I live with my mum, my father and my brother. My brother is called Rocco and he is ten years old, he is very sweet when he wants and we are quite in tune even if we have no common interests since he is smaller than me, he is very nice and always manages to make me laugh even on days when maybe I'm not well. I have always dreamed of a brother or sister almost my age or a little older because I would have many things to talk about with them and I would be more open. My father is called Tonino and he is a nurse, my mother is called Rita and she also works in the Hospital... this last year has been very difficult and it is continuing to be so for her because she works in the ward with Covid patients, she is the stronger person that I know because she never broke down, despite everything.

Ich liebe meine Familie, wir haben normalerweise nicht viel Zeit, um alle zusammen zu verbringen, weil meine beiden Eltern sehr beschäftigt sind, aber im Sommer gehen wir zu unserem Strandhaus in einer Stadt namens Casalbordino, wir sind jeden Sommer dort, seit ich dort war geboren.

Wir haben keine Haustiere, aber ich wollte schon immer einen Hund.

I like to do physical activities such as workouts, go for a run and go to the gym. I am also quite good at volleyball, skiing and horseback riding. I have practiced many sports since I was a child. When I have time I watch football matches with my brother, I don't consider myself a big fan, but I cheer Rome, like my father.

I often go out for walks alone to think a bit and clear my mind, most of the time I listen to music, I couldn't be without it. I listen to various genres such as rap, rock, pop, indie and much more.

I love watching movies, they have always fascinated me since I was a child, I loved going to the cinema and I continue to do so. I love the films of Christopher Nolan, Tarantino and many other directors. I don't have a favorite genre of films, as long as they convey emotions to me, that they are compelling and interesting. I usually watch at least 2 movies every weekend. I always watch everything in the original language and it has helped me a lot with the improvement of pronunciation and language in general.

I also really like reading books, usually I read books that tell a story and that makes me curious to know what's on the next page. I would like to read a lot more but unfortunately due to school I don't have much time to dedicate to myself.

One of my purposes in life is to travel as much as possible; I want to know new places, new cultures and new people. I think there is always something to learn from others and I know that I will learn many things from you, as I hope to be able to bring some of my culture to your home.

When I grow up I want to go and live outside Italy, I'm not sure what job I want to do, but I find criminology and psychology very fascinating, I think they would be my first study choices.

I'll be honest: I'm a very determined and stubborn girl. I like to have fun with my friends but also spend time alone, I am a shy person but at the same time outgoing. I have a very open and enterprising mind, I am very curious and I always try to broaden my culture by discovering something new. I hardly give up when faced with a problem and I always try to solve it in the best possible way. I love helping people and I am sincere. I like to joke but I can also be very serious. I don't like making problems for others. I'm the kind of person who always manages to get others to do something new.

I am not afraid of my choices, for this reason I have no doubt about this experience, I am sure it will be a year of profound personal growth and I hope to be able to make this experience wonderful not only for me, but also for you.

I want to thank you if you have chosen me because you will make my dream come true and you will be part of it.

I have so many other things to say that cross my mind, but I prefer to talk about it with you, once I get there we will get to know each other better, so I will just say a big

see you soon.

Chiara